".....it (Port Fairy) is the best value golf in the world - without question."  Golf Australia

New Local Rule


 

Rules: Accidentally Moving a Ball on the Putting Green No Longer A Penalty From 2017

Author:  Barry Rhodes, 14 December 2016, accessed from GolfLink.com.au

I want to highlight a few points that may be missed by some golfers and golf Committee personnel:

  • This is not a new, or amended Rule of Golf.
  • It is the recommended wording for a Local Rule that may (should!) be introduced on or after 1st January 2017.

 

Rules: Accidentally Moving a Ball on the Putting Green No Longer A Penalty From 2017

Author:  Barry Rhodes, 14 December 2016, accessed from GolfLink.com.au

I want to highlight a few points that may be missed by some golfers and golf Committee personnel:

  • This is not a new, or amended Rule of Golf.
  • It is the recommended wording for a Local Rule that may (should!) be introduced on or after 1st January 2017.
  • Committees will have to introduce the Local Rule for it to take effect on 1st Janaury 2017 and they are encouraged to do so.
  • It only applies to a ball, or ball marker, at rest on the putting green being played, not anywhere else on the course.
  • It does not matter how the ball or ball marker was accidentally moved, e.g. with the head of a putter, kicked, or as a result of a glove being dropped on it.
  • It only applies when a ball or ball marker is accidentally moved; it does not apply to a ball that is purposely touched or moved, e.g. a ball that is lifted without being marked.
  • It applies to the player, his or her partner, opponent(s), or any of their caddies or equipment.
  • The ball or ball marker that was accidentally moved must be replaced, as provided in Rules 18-2, 18-3 and 20-1.
  • If a player does not think that they caused their ball to move in any way, they must play it from where it came to rest, e.g. if it was moved by wind, water or gravity.


Back to top